Fourth umpire is wrong: Angelo Mathews offers 'video evidence', claims he shouldn't have been timed out
Angelo Mathews shared video evidence as ‘proof’, claiming that he was wrongly given ‘timed out’ in the World Cup 2023 match against Bangladesh on Monday, November 6 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi.
In the tweet before the ‘proof’, Mathews said that he had ‘five seconds’ left when he faced issues with his helmet.
Mathews wrote, “4th umpire is wrong here! Video evidence shows I still had 5 more seconds even after the helmet gave away! Can the 4th umpire rectify this please? I mean safety is paramount as I just couldn’t face the bowler without a helmet.”
In the ‘proof’, Mathews showed the difference was less than two minutes from the dismissal of Sadeera Samarawickrama to him facing the equipment malfunction.
“Proof! From the time catch was taken and the time helmet strap coming off.”
Fourth umpire Adrian Holdstock, however, had a different opinion. He said that two minutes had already passed when Mathews faced issues with his helmet.
“As a batter you need to make sure that all your equipment are in place before you go out in the middle, because you have to be ready to face the ball within two minutes,” Holdstock was quoted as saying.
Things got heated up ever since Mathews became the first batter to be given out ‘timed out’ in international cricket. There were constant altercations between the Bangladesh and Sri Lankan cricketers. Mathews also kept reminding the Tigers about the dismissal in one way or the other when Bangladesh batted.
In the post-match press conference, Mathews lashed out, saying that Bangladesh and their skipper Shakib Al Hasan were disgraceful.
“I have two minutes to get to the crease and get myself ready, which I did,” Mathews said.
“And then it was an equipment malfunction. And I don't know where the common sense went, because obviously it's disgraceful from Shakib and Bangladesh,” he added.